Conversion Rate Audit

Make every visit
(and dollar) count

Wish your website was able to turn more visitors into customers? Good news is you’re not alone and our Conversion Rate Audit service was created to help. Let our pros show you the magic — and the science — behind higher conversions.

Ready to find out if a Conversion Rate Audit is right for you?

Improve your conversion rate by 50%
with a conversion audit

Whether you’re experiencing common or complex challenges on the way to maximizing conversion, JEBCommerce is skilled at identifying the multitude of reasons your website isn’t achieving its potential.

We go beyond simply knowing whether your website’s goals are succeeding or failing. We determine how and why. Our Conversion Rate Audit service is a holistic evaluation leveraging a variety of disciplines, all aimed at helping improve your bottom line.

We know that accurate, insightful, and actionable data improves the performance of each channel and allows for more effective resource allocation and maximum results. Let us help you achieve your goals and increase growth. Request a 15 minute call with one of our experts to see if our service is right for you.

We’re Obsessed with Results

At the heart of all our efforts is our Client Services Roadmap, a six-step process for turning traffic into revenue.

Discovery

Step 1 - Stakeholder intro, discussion of issues, setting expectations

The Discovery phase enables us to gain a deep understanding of your business as well as the goals and objectives. It’s also an opportunity for a deep-dive into your unique challenges. We’ll set expectations for the overall project and explain how we get dramatic results quickly – like increasing conversions by 20-50% in 90 days.

Tech Eval

Step 2 - Identify on-site tech opportunities, continuity with entry/exit points

Our Technology and SEO Evaluation enables us to pinpoint specific opportunities and identify continuity across all of your channels. We dig deep and then keep digging to make sure that we are getting the whole picture and challenge any prevailing assumptions.

Heuristic Eval

Step 3 - Evaluate primary user flows through usability principles and best practices

During the Heuristic Evaluation phase our expert team reviews your website from the user’s perspective to determine how likely they are to be successful in interacting with it. Using a combination of best practices and established standards, we provide insight into and recommendations for fixing the usability issues we uncover.

Usability Testing

Step 4 - Recruit real-life users to evaluate the website and experience

During the Usability Testing phase we observe how real users are interacting with your website while trying to accomplish realistic tasks. Once we understand what users find difficult or confusing about your website, we offer expert recommendations.

Implementation

Step 5 - Prioritize main growth barriers, present and deploy approved fixes

Implementation is crucial to getting results from the audit. While technically optional, not completing this step is like having a prescription for the cure, but never filling it. If you don’t have the resources to make the recommended changes and your store is built on Shopify or Woocommerce, we can help!

Check-In

Step 6 - Evaluate efficacy of recommendations and solution implementation

After prioritizing and deploying approved fixes, we Check-In at predetermined intervals to evaluate the efficacy of our recommendations and implementations. The evaluations are all based on data and results.

Ready to find out what we can do for you?

Whether you’re experiencing issues with cart abandonment, high bounce rate on key pages, lack of requests for gated content, have recently undergone a website redesign or migration, or just want to improve Return on Ad Spend (ROAS), we can help!

heatherburford_universalfunding

“For months our site was producing an increased number of unqualified leads. This was costing us a lot of money. On top of this, the number of qualified leads was not enough to reach our growth goals. What we love about the team at JEBCommerce is their honest feedback, strategic thinking and proactive approach. They’re always bringing new ideas to the table. The user testing project they performed identified changes that needed to be made with our site which has resulted in a much better site, more qualified leads and improved perception in our industry. We highly recommend the team at JEB Commerce to anyone looking to optimize their site.”

– Heather Burford, Marketing Manager, Universal Funding

Almost there? Check out the case studies from our previous campaigns

Optimizing Mobile Conversion

How a thorough conversion rate audit and quick fix implementation improved mobile conversion rates by 311%

How User Testing and UI/UX redesign boosted leads and reputability

Discover how JEBCommerce helped Universal Funding identify and strengthen its website’s weak points to effectively communicate competitive advantages, create a caring, trusting online presence, and increase quality leads.

Analytics Training and User Testing

Learn how analytics training sessions helped to achieve full transparency with our client. Also see how our team deployed usability testing to determine navigational issues that needed to be addressed with Kootenai Urgent Care’s site.

Frequently Asked Questions

Conversion rate is one of the best ways to determine if you are converting website visitors into buyers. Basically, conversion rate is the percentage of visitors to your website or landing page that perform the action you want them to take.

These actions can include:

  • Making a purchase
  • Adding a product to a shopping cart/wishlist, etc.
  • Submitting a form (such as a contact us form, lead gen form, etc)
  • Contacting your business (by email or by calling)
  • Filling out a contact form for a quote
  • Using your online chat features
  • Signing up for a subscription (either paid or free including a newsletter or daily alerts)
  • Registering on the website
  • Downloading something (a software trial, eBook, mobile app, etc)
  • Interacting with something on the website (such as a new feature or checking out suggested products)

Conversion rate = (conversions / total visitors) * 100%

Conversion rates are calculated by taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total interactions that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 interactions, your conversion rate would  be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.

If you’re concerned that people are coming to your site, but not taking the actions you want them to perform or any action at all, it could be time to conduct an audit to identify the problems.

Conversion rates are often linked to a variety of factors including decreases in revenue or AOV, drops stemming from changes to the UI/UX or backend, a shift in your demographics and target market, overall shifts in the marketplace and more.

When you’re ready, download our 9-Point Website Optimization Checklist to the discover trouble spots and opportunities your site is facing.

  • Introduction and orientation call
  • Admin access to Google Analytics and Google Search Console
  • An XML sitemap of the website
  • A description of your primary buyer demographic
  • A top ten list of the site’s key pages

This will depend entirely on how quickly our change recommendations can be made to your website. However, once they’re in place, you should see results within 90 days.

We offer design and development services for stores built on Shopify and Woocommerce. For all other platforms, we can assist you in finding a qualified developer.

Meet your partners in excellence

JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Jamie Birch

Jamie Birch

Founder/CEO

Jamie Birch

Founder/CEO

Time with company: 16 yrs 0 mos

Jamie is the owner and principal of JEBCommerce. His extensive Internet marketing experience includes all facets of online marketing: email, paid search campaigns, customer retention programs, and much more. This wide range of disciplines has enabled Jamie to excel as a business leader and JEBCommerce to realize a great level of success for its clients.

Jamie cut his “affiliate marketing teeth” managing affiliate programs for many well known companies before spending several years at Coldwater Creek, a Top 5 nationwide women’s clothing retailer. While at Coldwater Creek, Jamie established and managed affiliate campaigns, email campaigns, and SEO campaigns – an opportunity that allowed him to develop many of the proven processes JEBCommerce successfully employs today.

In recognition of his professional leadership, the affiliate marketing industry has consistently nominated him for Annual Pinnacle Awards over the years. In addition to individual accolades, JEBCommerce is gaining momentum within the Internet marketing industry and is experiencing positive, exciting growth. This is a direct result of Jamie’s positive leadership, integrity, and earned respect – from his clients and industry peers.

Need a speaker for your next event? I can do that, too!

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Sarah Birch

Sarah Birch

Co-Founder

Sarah Birch

Co-Founder

Time with company: 16 yrs 0 mos

Sarah is Jamie’s wife and the co-founder of JEBCommerce and the company’s CFO. Sarah has over ten years of experience in direct sales and has played a vital role in the launch and management of JEBCommerce. Currently, leads our staffing and accounting departments.

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Louann Schneidmiller

Louann Schneidmiller

CFO

Louann Schneidmiller

CFO

Time with company: 3 yrs 6 mos

Coming Soon!

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Stephen Robinson

Stephen Robinson

Director of Affiliate Marketing

Stephen Robinson

Director of Affiliate Marketing

Time with company: 2 yrs 6 mos

Stephen was one of JEBCommerce’s first employees! He was one of our first account managers when JEB launched, and he now leads the entire affiliate department and strategy. In fact, over ten years ago, he built many of the original award-winning processes that our affiliate management team still uses to this very day. Since helping to launch JEBCommerce, Stephen has managed affiliate programs across multiple OPM agencies and worked driving ecommerce sale strategies within the private sector.

Stephen returned to JEB in the Spring of 2018 and since then has championed the agency to win the, 2019 Pinnacle Award, OPM Marketing Agency of the Year! Stephen brings over 13+ years of account management, leadership and speaking experience in the affiliate space. He has managed both mid-sized and enterprise accounts including Audible, Bodybuilding.com, RedRoof Inn, PRWeb, Eastern Mountain Sports, Distinctive Apparel Brands, Palm and Hilton Hotels.

Stephen has contributed to Feedfront magazine, as well as recently speaking at ASW2020.

In his spare time, Stephen enjoys spending time with his wife and three beautiful daughters on the lake when he’s not training for triathlons. Up next - Ironman Coeur d’Alene, 2021!

Certifications: CJ Ambassador, Impact Radius Certified, Rakuten Marketing Certified Agency Manager

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Jake Fuller

Director of Acquisition

Jake Fuller

Director of Acquisition

Time with company: 0 yrs 0 mos

Jake came to JEBCommerce in October of 2020 in the craze of Q4 madness. He brings over 13 years of sales, digital marketing and affiliate relationship management to our team. From working with lead-gen software companies, to running his own lead generation and consulting firm the past 5 years, his experience widely ranges within the space which has allowed him to build up a robust network. He enjoys running ultramarathons, golfing, and enjoying the outdoors with his wife, and his 2 boys.

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Gabe Ripley

Gabe Ripley

Director of Creative Services

Gabe Ripley

Director of Creative Services

Time with company: 6 yrs 4 mos

The turn of the millennium was both the end of the world and the start of Gabe’s career which began with Coldwater Creek where he would spend the better part of 14 years. His tenure brought with it much growth and a variety of job titles, from Production Designer, to Web Designer, to UI/UX Designer and Developer. The experience would shape many aspects of his professional life and introduce him to people that would go on to influence the next chapter of his journey.

The summer of 2014 brought about the collapse of Coldwater Creek, but also the aforementioned next chapter. In June of the same year Gabe accepted the Director of Creative Services position at JEBCommerce. During his time with the company he’s been Designer, Developer, Marketing Coordinator, Brand Police™, part-time IT support, and, most recently, the creator of the Conversion Rate Audit service.

When not at his desk helping make the web a better place, Gabe enjoys 3D modeling and printing, wood working and turning, gaming of any kind, building and collecting mechanical keyboards, and helping coordinate the local WordPress meetup.

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Kristin Wardwell

Kristin Wardwell

Senior Affiliate Manager

Kristin Wardwell

Senior Affiliate Manager

Time with company: 6 yrs 3 mos

Kristin graduated from Portland State University in 2011 with a degree in Marketing. After college, she started working in digital marketing and has experience with lead generation and social media marketing. After moving to Coeur d'Alene in 2014, Kristin started her affiliate marketing career with JEBCommerce. In her time at JEBCommerce, she has managed a wide range of brands including CityPASS, Johnston & Murphy, and Speck. In her spare time she enjoys spending time with her husband and two kids.

Certifications: CJ Ambassador, Impact Radius Certified, Rakuten Marketing Certified Agency Manager, Certified Partnerize Pro

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Chris Park

Chris Park

Senior Affiliate Manager

Chris Park

Senior Affiliate Manager

Time with company: 1 yrs 4 mos

A true industry veteran, Chris has been a part of the JEBCommerce team since June 2019. He began his affiliate marketing career in 2000 managing the Blair.com affiliate program, added the Old Pueblo Traders and Bedford Fair affiliate programs in 2013, and ended up managing 11 programs, including Fingerhut, when Blair's parent company was acquired by Bluestem Brands. In 2017, Chris made the switch to the agency side and gained experience in the travel vertical managing programs for Choice Hotels and Caesars Entertainment while working for a small OPM company. When he got an opportunity to join the JEBCommerce team, Chris quickly jumped at the chance to work with his longtime industry friend, Jamie Birch! Chris is a frequent speaker at affiliate marketing events and local community colleges.

When he’s not living the dream that is affiliate marketing, Chris and his wife, Shelley, enjoy traveling to visit their grown children and grandchildren.

Certifications: CJ Ambassador, Impact Radius Certified, Rakuten Marketing Certified Agency Manager

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Morgan Mittie

Morgan Mittie

Affiliate Manager

Morgan Mittie

Affiliate Manager

Time with company: 2 yrs 2 mos

Morgan is a Gonzaga University graduate with a corporate CPG background in influencer marketing, social media, co-branded partnership campaigns and public relations for the grocery industry. Since joining JEBCommerce in 2018, Morgan has managed and driven revenue for some of our most profitable clients within the following industries: Tech, Health & Wellness, Automotive, Fashion, Outdoor Recreation and Home Décor.

Morgan’s strategic thinking, goal-based strategies and knack for developing strong partnerships leads to consistent year-over-year growth for her clients. Outside of her work on the affiliate team, Morgan works closely with our team on agency marketing, content contribution and social media strategy.

Outside of work, Morgan volunteers as president of a local marketing group, Spokane Regional Marcom Association. She also enjoys what can only be described as “making extensive messes” in the kitchen when she’s not spending time outdoors with her family enjoying the beautiful Inland Northwest.

Certifications: CJ Ambassador, Impact Radius Certified, Rakuten Marketing Certified Agency Manager

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Dorothy Dalton

Dorothy Dalton

Affiliate Manager

Dorothy Dalton

Affiliate Manager

Time with company: 6 yrs 8 mos

Dorothy graduated from Northern Arizona University in 2013, with a degree in Sociology in the hopes of helping people cope better with life's challenges. In February 2014 she applied for an affiliate position at JEBCommerce and was hired even though she didn’t have a background in affiliate marketing, but is relational, an achiever, positive, and focused. That was over 6.5 years ago and she has come a long way in knowing almost everything about affiliate marketing given her client experience over the last 6.5 years. Her clients have been in the fashion (Paul Fredrick), home goods (Zak Designs), decor (Redbubble and Mimeo Photos), and even travel (Contiki and Trafalgar) verticals.

In Dorothy’s free time; she attends church functions, traveling the US and world, and hanging with her friends/family, and pup Penny.

Certifications: CJ Ambassador, Impact Radius Certified, Rakuten Marketing Certified Agency Manager

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Kenny Dodge

Kenny Dodge

Affiliate Manager

Kenny Dodge

Affiliate Manager

Time with company: 2 yrs 7 mos

Kenny started at JEBCommerce in the Spring of 2016. Before entering the affiliate industry, Kenny ran marketing departments in Tech and Healthcare. He now manages the Saatva Mattress affiliate program and several Health & Beauty programs. Kenny prides himself in taking ownership of his programs under management and enjoys working with his advertisers to grow their affiliate program and crush their goals.

He and his wife, Katherine, were married in 2018 and just recently welcomed their first child, Michael, into the family. When he’s not working with clients, Kenny enjoys fixing up their house, playing golf, or spending time with family in the North Idaho area.

Certifications: CJ Ambassador, Impact Radius Certified, Rakuten Marketing Certified Agency Manager, Certified Partnerize Pro

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Shane Tyler

Shane Tyler

Assistant Affiliate Manager

Shane Tyler

Assistant Affiliate Manager

Time with company: 2 yrs 7 mos

Shane was originally a Computer Science major, before developing an affinity for the business world when joining the JEB team in March of 2018. As a result, he has transferred his major to Business and Communication, and continues to manage client programs at JEBCommerce. There, he helps oversee various aspects of the affiliate channel, such as reporting, recruitment, optimization, and strategizing. His experience in advertiser verticals runs the gamut, and includes categories such as Sports & Outdoor (Eastern Mountain Sports), Fitness (Bodybuilding.com) Health & Wellness (Plant Therapy), and Fashion (Silver Jeans).

When he’s not engaged in affiliate programs or buried in a college textbook, you can find Shane indulging in many types of creative enterprises, such as: Film, Photography, Music Production, and Poetry.

Certifications: CJ Ambassador, Impact Radius Certified, Rakuten Marketing Certified Agency Manager

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Taylor Weibert

Taylor Weibert

Assistant Affiliate Manager

Taylor Weibert

Assistant Affiliate Manager

Time with company: 1 yrs 10 mos

Taylor joined the JEBCommerce team in Q4 of 2018 after spending five years in Foodservice Marketing. With a background in event and sweepstakes marketing she enjoys thinking on the fly to solve issues brands face. Throughout her time with the JEB team she has assisted in managing multiple programs in varying verticals including mattresses, technology, beauty, and apparel. Despite having a degree in English Literature, Taylor has nurtured an interest in data and loves to try to predict the ROI of campaigns for clients.

Never ones to back down from challenges, Taylor and her husband are busy raising a son and newly welcomed identical twin daughters while their two dogs patrol for any dropped food. When they find spare time or are feeling adventurous, they pack everyone up for a good camping trip, some hiking, or a round of disc golf. During the winters in Coeur d’Alene, Taylor has nurtured her love of baking, reading, and winding down with a cup of tea.

Certifications: CJ Ambassador, Impact Radius Certified, Rakuten Marketing Certified Agency Manager

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Andrew Ferguson

Andrew Ferguson

Assistant Affiliate Manager

Andrew Ferguson

Assistant Affiliate Manager

Time with company: 1 yrs 10 mos

Andrew works as an affiliate manager for JEBCommerce where he spends my time researching blogs, podcasts, apps, and coupon sites to help partner them with the brands that match them best. With around 3 years “in the pit” and over 10 years on the sidelines he has worked with his family to turn JEBCommerce from a backyard business to a thriving workplace where they have had the opportunity to work with great brands like Speck, zulily, and Eastern Mountain Sports.

A lot of his time is spent recruiting and optimizing relationships for our clients, while also assisting the team with one-off projects, the fun and the boring daily tasks and whatever administrative items are necessary to grow our programs.

Certifications: CJ Ambassador, Impact Radius Certified, Rakuten Marketing Certified Agency Manager

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Katie Winger

Katie Winger

Assistant Affiliate Manager

Katie Winger

Assistant Affiliate Manager

Time with company: 1 yrs 10 mos

Katie was born and raised here in beautiful Coeur d’Alene, Idaho! After graduating from Boise State University with a Bachelor of Arts in Communication, she moved to Portland, Ore. to gain experience at a public relations agency, where she worked with teams from Lyft and U.S. Cellular. Katie moved home in November 2018 and joined the JEB team, where she has worked within several verticals including health/wellness (Dr. Fuhrman), travel (The Travel Corporation), and clothing/retail (Paul Fredrick). She assists the team by drafting reports, coordinating paid placements, recruiting and optimizing affiliates, as well as strategizing techniques to increase revenue, sales and traffic.

In her free time, she is happiest when found on the lake, volunteering at the humane society or making pasta!

Certifications: CJ Ambassador, Impact Radius Certified, Rakuten Marketing Certified Agency Manager

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Nicole Ripley

Nicole Ripley

Executive Assistant

Nicole Ripley

Executive Assistant

Time with company: 5 yrs 11 mos

Nicole headed to college with starry-eyed dreams of becoming a park ranger. Though she graduated with a degree in Forest Recreation and spent a few summers with the Forest Service and National Park Service, Nicole’s career has mostly been indoors. She spent six years with Coldwater Creek as an assistant buyer, with a focus on product management. Tracking clothing samples, processing product information sheets, and creating merch boards developed her love of and appreciation for processes, something she brought with her when she joined the JEB team in the fall of 2014. Now Nicole spends her day assisting Jamie, overseeing the office, managing HR tasks and travel needs, and creating a process for everything she does. When not scheduling meetings or organizing files, Nicole loves to spend time with her family watching movies, playing games, and visiting museums. And on occasion, she gets out to the forest for a hike.

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JEBCommerce Employee Profile - Robert Butterfield

Robert Butterfield

Sales and Acquisitions Assistant

Robert Butterfield

Sales and Acquisitions Assistant

Time with company: 3 yrs 2 mos

Coming Soon!

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Nanette Pitts

Sales Admin

Nanette Pitts

Sales Admin

Time with company: 0 yrs 0 mos

New to the JEBCommerce team, October 2020, Nanette brings with her a background in education working with elementary aged children. During her time with the school district she worked on a special education team assisting those with autism, special needs, and physical disabilities.

Following work with the school, she channeled her passion for working with children and horses into an advertising and social media development role with Bridle Path Quarter Horses. She wore a variety hats with the organization and handled many of the departments in day-to-day operations. In a similar vein, her enthusiasm and work ethic had flowed over into a role as the Team Coordinator and Parent Liaison for the Bridle Path Brats, a rodeo program for children. The role required coordinating people and events during the active season to ensure a successful experience.

Nanette’s extra-curricular pursuits are numerous, but lately have been focused on photography and writing. She currently has a short story published and she hopes to see her hardback novel on bookstore shelves soon. She does all of this and so much more while being an active Rodeo Mom and taxiing her daughter to events.

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